Public Works is applying fresh dust control on Apex Valley and Dory Hill roads June 13, weather permitting. Alternate routes are advised.

 
1

Gilpin County Building Locations, Departments, and Officials

#FFFFFF

Gilpin County Building Locations, Departments, and Officials

#FFFFFF

The Gilpin County Historic (or "Old") Courthouse

203 Eureka Street, Central City 80427

The Historic Courthouse houses the Board of County Commissioners, the County Manager's Office, Community Development (building, planning, zoning), Clerk & Recorder (elections, certificates, motor vehicles), Assessor, and Treasurer & Public Trustee.

View Directions to the Old, Historic Courthouse

203 Eureka Street, 2nd Floor
P.O. Box 366, Central City, CO 80427
Phone: 303-582-5214
Fax: 303-582-5440
Hours: 7:30 a.m. - 5:30 p.m., Monday - Thursday (closed on Fridays)
Gilpin County Commissioners
District 1 - Marie A. Mornis, mmornis@gilpincounty.org 
District 2 - Susan Berumen, sberumen@gilpincounty.org 
District 3 - Sandy Hollingsworth, shollingsworth@gilpincounty.org 
County Manager - Ray Rears, rrears@gilpincounty.org 
Deputy Clerk to the Board - Melanie Bleyler (interim), mbleyler@gilpincounty.org 
General E-mail Address - pubcomment@gilpincounty.org 

203 Eureka Street, 1st Floor
P.O. Box 338, Central City, CO 80427
Phone: 303-582-5451
Hours: 7:30 a.m. - 5:30 p.m., Monday - Thursday 
County Assessor - April Nielsen, anielsen@gilpincounty.org 

203 Eureka Street, 1st Floor
P.O. Box 429, Central City, CO 80427
Phone: 303-582-5321
Fax: 303-565-1797
Hours: 7:30am to 5:30pm Monday - Thursday
County Clerk - Sahari McCormick, smccormick@gilpincounty.org 
general clerkandrecorder@gilpincounty.org 
Election elections@gilpincounty.org 
Motor Vehicle gilpinmv@gilpincounty.org 
Recordings recordings@gilpincounty.org 
website

203 Eureka Street, 3rd Floor
P.O. Box 661, Central City, CO 80427
Phone: 303-582-5831
Fax: 303-565-1796
Hours: 7:30 a.m. - 5:30 p.m., Monday - Thursday


Director of Community Development - Robert Gutierrez, rgutierrez@gilpincounty.org
Code Enforcement - Brian Smith, bsmith@gilpincounty.org
Planner 1 - vacant

Permit Technician - Kristine Sacco, slsacco@gilpincounty.org

203 Eureka Street, 1st Floor
P.O. Box 368, Central City, CO 80427
Office: - 303-582-5222
Fax: 303-582-3086
Hours: 7:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m., Monday - Thursday 
Treasurer: Mary Lorenz, mlorenz@gilpincounty.org 
general e-mail address - gctreasurer@gilpincounty.org 

#FFFFFF

The Apex Building

495 Apex Valley Road, Black Hawk, CO 80422

The Apex Building houses Human Resources, Finance, and Facilities Departments.

View Directions to the Apex Building

255 Braecher Park Rd., Black Hawk, CO 80422
Phone: 303-582-5004
Phone: 303-515-4324
Fax: 303-951-3675

Facilities Director - Ryan Keenan, rkeenan@gilpincounty.org 

495 Apex Valley Road, Black Hawk, CO 80422

Mailing Address: PO Box 366, Central City, CO 80427
Phone: 303-951-3671

Finance Director: Joe Allaire, jallaire@gilpincounty.org 

495 Apex Valley Road, Black Hawk, CO 80422

Mailing Address: P.O. Box 366, Central City, CO 80427
Phone: 303-951-3671
Fax: 303-951-3675
Hours: 7:30 a.m. - 5:30 p.m., Monday - Thursday

Human Resources Director - Chanda Johnson, crjohnson@gilpincounty.org 

#FFFFFF

The Justice Center

2960 Dory Hill Road, Black Hawk, CO 80422

The Justice Center houses the following departments: Sheriff, Jail, Combined Courts, Victim Services, and Office of Emergency Management (OEM).

View Directions to the Justice Center

2960 Dory Hill Road, Black Hawk, CO 80422
Phone: 303-582-5522

Court Clerk: Terri Meredith, terri.meredith@judicial.state.co.us 

2960 Dory Hill Road, Suite 300, Black Hawk, CO 80422
Emergency - 9 1 1
Non-emergency - 303-582-5500
Hours: 24 Hour Coverage
Dispatch Supervisor - Lyssa Gray, lgray@gilpincounty.org 
general e-mail address - gcdispatch@gilpincounty.org 

2960 Dory Hill Road, Suite 350, Black Hawk, CO 80422
Phone: 303-582-3576
Fax: 303-582-3574
Visiting Hours: Saturday and Sunday - 9:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. and 2:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Tuesday - 6:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m.
Jail Administration- Division Chief Sean Wheeler, swheeler@gilpincounty.org 

2960 Dory Hill Road, Suite 300, Black Hawk, CO 80422
Phone: 303-582-1060
Fax: 303-582-3813
TTY/TDD Machine - 303-582-0745
Hours: 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday - Friday
Sheriff Kevin Armstrong
karmstrong@gilpincounty.org 
Undersheriff Tonia Kapke
kapke@gilpincounty.org 
Administrative Services Coordinator- Cherokee Blake
cblake@gilpincounty.org 
general e-mail address - sheriff@gilpincounty.org 
web page - https://www.gilpincountysheriff.com/

2960 Dory Hill Road, Ste 300, room 222 Black Hawk, CO 80422
Phone: 303-515-4320

Emergency Management Director: Melissa Lewis, mlewis@gilpincounty.org 

2960 Dory Hill Road, Suite 300, Black Hawk, CO 80422
Office - 303-582-5926
Fax: 582-6018

Victim Services Coordinator- Kristina Mahoney, kmahoney@gilpincounty.org 

#FFFFFF

Parks & Recreation Complex

The Parks & Recreation Complex includes the Community Center, Fairgrounds (Barn & Allen Memorial Arena), and Pete Gones Memorial Park. CSU Extension is housed in the Barn.

View Directions to the Community Center

View Directions to the Fairgrounds

250 Norton Drive, Black Hawk, CO 80422
Phone: 303-582-1453

Parks & Recreation Director - Gabrielle Chisholm, gchisholm@gilpincounty.org 

230 Norton Drive, Black Hawk, CO 80422 (Located at the Exhibit Building at fairgrounds)
Phone: 303-582-9106
Fax: 303-582-5062
Hours: 8:30 a.m. - 1:30 p.m., Monday - Friday
Agent hours are 8:30 am - 4:30 pm, however please note that agent is often in the field.
Extension Agent- Jennifer Cook, jennifer.cook@colostate.edu 
Website: https://gilpin.extension.colostate.edu

#FFFFFF

Health & Human Services Building

15193 Highway 119, Black Hawk, CO 80422

The Health & Human Services Building houses Human Services, Public Health, and the Coroner.

P.O. Box 333, Central City, CO 80427
Office Phone: 303-515-4333
Cell Phone and Best Contact Number: 303-435-7061
Coroner - Zane Laubhan, zanel@gilpincounty.org 

15193 Highway 119, Black Hawk, CO 80422
Phone: 303-582-5444
Fax: 303-582-5237

Human Services Director - Janey Barker, mary.barker@state.co.us 

Colorado Child Abuse and Neglect Hotline: 1-844-264-5437 to report concerns about a child's safety and well-being, or an adult protection concern.

15193 Highway 119, Black Hawk, CO 80422
Phone: 303-582-5803
Fax: 303-582-9063
Public Health Director- Alisa Witt, ext. 7101, awitt@gilpincounty.org  
general email address - gilpinph@gilpincounty.org 

#FFFFFF

Public Works Complex

The Public Works Complex includes the Public Works Facility (Road & Bridge), the Trash Transfer Station, and the Slash Site.

View Directions to (Road & Bridge) Public Works Facility

View the Map of Public Works 

255 Braecher Park Rd., Black Hawk, CO 80422
Phone: 303-582-5004
Fax: 303-582-3291

Office Hours: Monday - Thursday, 7:30 a.m. - 5:30 p.m.  

Public Works Director -  jcombs@gilpincounty.org 

Road Questions or Issuesgcroads@gilpincounty.org 

278 Jankowski Drive, Black Hawk, CO 80422

Located just off Highway 119, approx 1/4 mile north of Taggerts Gas Station at MM 15.5.

The Slash site is open seasonally, directly across Highway 119 from the Transfer Station.

Click here for trash site details and rates.

Phone: For more information please call 303-582-5004 weekdays between 8:00 a.m. and 4:30 p.m.

Transfer Station Hours:  Wednesdays-Saturdays 7 - 2:30, Sundays 8 - 1.  Closed Mondays, Tuesdays & Holidays.

#FFFFFF

Gilpin County Public Library

15131 Highway 119, Black Hawk, CO 80422

15131 Highway 119
Black Hawk CO 80422
Phone: 303-582-5777
Fax: 303-582-3938
Closed Sunday & Monday
Library Director - Michael Carlson, mcarlson@gilpincounty.org 
website
general e-mail address - gilpinlib@gilpincounty.org